Merry berry

I know, I know! Have sampled the fruit in question. Kind of tastes like a super sour plum, with a more delicate skin, isn’t it?
Yet it holds exotic appeal, to me. The plant with its rich green foliage, dainty flowers and the resulting berries, flourishes in the Bangalore weather.
Something about the way it looks, the eye-catching colors and a tartness that packs in a punch, sets it apart maybe.
No room for comparison with the regular sweet cherry, despite the uncanny resemblance…what with the sweet cherry plant requiring several days of below-freezing temperatures to thrive and yield fruits.

Such a thrill to see the shrub I planted some months ago, growing new shoots and flowering. So some lines and pics to express a glimpse of the same.

Petals with crinkles
Anticipation tingles
Leafy glints
Rosy tints
Blushing lights
Glowing whites
Promise crimson berries
Full of mysteries
Within flowers sealed
The awaited yield
Of winter blossom
In the days to come
I cajole it to make haste
How will it taste?
Mild or wholesome?
Bland or flavorsome?
Tart but sweet?
Munchy treat?
Delicious I bet
As I wait for the fruit set
The arriving berry meal
Shall be a scrumptious reveal
Hola hola, acerola!

If you are wondering and would like to look it up, the scientific name is malpighia emarginata or malpighia glabra (depending on which one I got)

Leave a comment