Coming in from the wild

The flash of red fur in the undergrowth made my movements cease. For an infinitesimal moment time stopped. For me.

Neurons rapidly fired in the mind apart from a playing-out of all those other steps that result in the relaying of signals. A rush of primal fear zipped through. Not the paralyzing kind but the one to prompt quick action along with a compulsion to draw upon limited knowledge. Recently processed information gurgled, rising to the surface. Gathered from random googling and recent conversations. Had heard about sightings of a wild dog/red dog. Ruminating while standing more than 4000ft above sea level, surrounded by wilderness, the question grows and lingers. What if it is indeed that? An animal listed as endangered. A proficient hunter that competes with and has a dietary overlap with the likes of forest veterans, tiger and leopard. Supposedly, shy and withdrawing but can be aggressive in certain situations.

What if it feels threatened?

What if it resents my presence?

As thoughts ran like an overflowing stream, I backed away.

Slowly.

Quietly.

My eyes never leaving the form lounging in the lush green growth. The fur shifted.

A large head lifted and turned around.

A pair of canine eyes stared.

Then its full form lifted up and it shook itself. Like a regular doggo. Familiarity brought a sliver of comfort.

My eyes darted, seeking a view of the tail. A long bushy tail would be a tell-tale sign about its identity, isn’t it?

To my surprise, only a furry stump… tail missing. Oh…

Now that the full form was visible, I noticed that the coloring of its fur was all wrong. The look on its face was not feral. Its demeanor looked like that of a domesticated dog.

What if I am wrong?

It took a few steps forward, as if approaching me, then slumped on ground closer to where I stood frozen, offering a better view.

Then it began to pose. Its countenance benign. Inviting even, encouraging me to click away and create its portfolio. Like a fashion photographer. Which I am not. I flowed with the moment. Laying to rest all doubts. Or so I believed and began to snap pics, fear giving way to relief and curiosity. The dog moved into a different pose after every click, apparently hyperaware, yet exuding a picture of leisure and relaxation, a sense of oneness with Mother Nature. Maybe this canine’s insight is way more evolved than I chose to believe.

It hung around the cottage during our stay in the hills, offering more opportunities to snap its pics.

And yes, sighted another one too. Found it prowling, casting long shadows. Tawny fur, bushy tail, spiky upright ears, but again nothing to suggest aggression or a feral nature. It kept its distance, so did I. But managed a few occasional clicks when the chance presented itself.

Disclaimer: Not claiming these are the wild/red ones (Cuon alpinus) or the regular familiar kind (Canis lupus familiaris). And this is not to be interpreted as advice, tips or suggestions in any form or shape, however vague, about how to conduct oneself in the wilderness.

Leave a comment