Kindle on the go!

by A.R Sara

I have a collection of books from decades ago, which I just cannot part with. I have developed a compulsive habit of carrying at least a couple of books with me everywhere I go. It counters my impulsive trait to splurge on books at every book shop I pass by. Yes, the smell and feel of a book unquestionably add to the exquisite reading experience.
But for long distance travel I have come to rely on a Kindle, as it helps keep the packing light, serves as a reality check on my temptation to shop at every book store that meets my eye and also eliminates the need to safeguard my prized possessions (my books) from folks who want to casually borrow them. 🙂
I have managed to temporarily forgo the overall experience, to have a digital library at my disposal when I am travelling and to be able to savour at least the words, sans the touch, feel or smell (which my mind attempts to conjure up and compensate anyway 🙂

Here’s a verse to go with my love for reading…

Yes, I collect, cherish and treasure all my books,
Not just for their unforgettable characters and plots with twists and hooks,
But also for their lingering smells and distinguished looks,
Be they thriller, romance, sci-fi or guide books,
Turning pages makes me dream of flowing summer brooks,
Their unique textures tease and soothe my finger tips,
As I drink in the words with small measured sips,
Yes, I am an ardent collector of the written word,
I just don’t care if that is absurd,
I read with my senses to watch the lines come alive,
Even as into books of all sizes, shapes and smells, I deep dive,
Wonderful books from over many a decade ago,
They elegantly grace my humble shelves, high and low,
I like to carry at least one everywhere I go,
They can make time go incredibly fast or deliciously slow,
Some years ago while travelling a long long way,
I picked up an enticing hardbound, to indulge in my usual way,
But then, to my frightful and utter dismay,
I felt my eyes roll and my head sway,
I found I could not proceed even past a single line,
Didn’t matter whether the road was rocky or fine,
Reading from any book on the go,
Just made me feel faint and in sickness bow,
I was stricken as this condition lasted long,
I tried to compensate listening to song after song,
Swiping messages to images, I tried them all,
But that didn’t help at all,
It just made the time painfully crawl,
During one such never ending dull commute,
When the need to read was painfully acute,
I rummaged my large bag for at least the feel of a book,
A hard or a softbound that may be tucked away in any nook,
As a spark of hope it did rekindle
To my surprise, what should my hands land on…but a kindle,
An almost forgotten gift,
And an idea clicked rather swift,
I dropped my reservations a bit,
Starting it up, I happily browsed the titles preloaded,
Without a thought for my wobbly head,
Till I picked one I could comfortably read,
And to snap the device shut, I felt no need,
‘Cause lo behold! my crown felt just swell,
No sign of the dreadfully sickly dizzy spell,
Like a thirsty desert wanderer at a fountain of limitless stories,
I sipped, then gulped the words, line after line, swiping page after page,
My constitution cooperated, calm and sage,
My mind feasted on the words in silent raphsody!
Not perfect but nevertheless a welcome remedy,
As a travel companion, a kindle should nicely do,
To chase away any hint of blue,
With an entire library of stories old and new,
To paint my thoughts in many a hue,
The smell, touch and feel of a book I was willing to forgo,
While on the go!
So that I can continue to feed my imagination,
Regardless of my journey or my destination!

©2017 RajaRajeshwari N

 

 

